The NTUA is divided into nine academic Schools, eight being for the engineering sciences, including architecture, and one for the general sciences. The personnel of the nine Faculties include more than 700 people as academic staff, 140 scientific assistants and 260 administrative and technical staff. The total number of NTUA employees is about 1350. The total number of undergraduate students is about 8500 and the graduate students 1500. The nine Faculties are divided into 33 Departments, as follows:

School of Civil Engineering

•Structural Engineering   

•Water Resources, Hydraulic and Maritime Engineering          

•Geotechnical Engineering

•Transportation Planning

•Engineering Construction and Management

Registration Office: Civil Engineering Building, Zographou Campus, tel. +30 210 7723445

School of Mechanical Engineering

 • Fluid Mechanics Engineering

 • Thermal Engineering

 • Nuclear Engineering

 • Mechanical Constructions and Automatic Control

 • Manufacturing Technology

 • Industrial Management and Operational

Research Registration Office: Mechanical Engineering Building, Zographou Campus, tel. +30 210 7723534

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

 • Electroscience

 •Electric Power Engineering

 • Computer Engineering and Informatics

 Registration Office: Zographou Complex, tel. +30 210 7723993/ 3994/ 3997

School of Architecture

 •Architectural Design

 •Urban and Regional Planning

 •Interior Design and Landscaping

 •Building Technology-Structural Design and Mechanical Equipment

Registration Office: Averof Building, Patission Complex, tel. +30 210 7723333/ 3328

School of Chemical Engineering

 • Chemical Sciences

 •Process and Systems Analysis, Design and Development

 •Materials Science and Engineering

 •Synthesis and Development of Industrial Processes

 Registration Office: Chemical Engineering Building, Zographou Campus, tel. +30 210 7723059

School of Rural and Surveying Engineering


•Geography and Regional Planning

• Rural Technology and Development

Registration Office: Lambadario Building, Zographou Campus, tel. +30 210 7722761

School of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering

 • Geological Sciences

 • Mining Engineering

 • Metallurgy and Materials Technology

 Registration Office: Mining Engineering Building, Zographou Campus, tel. +30 210 7722070/ 2071

School of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

Registration Office: Mechanical & Naval Engineering Building, Zographou Campus, tel. +30 210 7721926/ 1927

School of Applied Mathematical and Physical Science

 • Physics

 • Mathematics

 • Mechanics

 • Humanities, Social Sciences and Law

Registration Office: General Courses Building, Zografou Campus, tel. +30 210 7721681/ 1684/ 1685/ 1687



The Academic Calendar of N.T.U.A. comprises 10 independent, integral academic semesters, the 1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th and 9th, being fall semesters and the 2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th and 10th being spring semesters. The 10th semester is devoted to the preparation of the diploma thesis. Each semester lasts 18 weeks: 13 weeks of classes, a two week break (Christmas and Easter holidays for the fall and spring semester respectively), and three weeks of semester exams. There is also a one week break between the fall and the spring semesters. Registration Registration in person takes place at the Registrar’s Office the first two weeks of each semester. The Curriculum for all semesters is published annually in the Student Guides of each Faculty in both Greek and English. The Curriculum contains all mandatory and elective courses offered by the Faculty along with course descriptions, schedules, and the sequence and interdependence of the courses. The student guides are available at the Registrar’s office of each Faculty.

Examinations and Grading

During the winter examination period (January - February) only the courses of the fall semesters are examined, and in the summer examination period (June-July) only the courses of the spring semesters are examined. There is also a re-examination period in September, during which students may take exams they have failed or missed. The September examination period also provides students with an opportunity to improve the grade of a course they have already passed by re-taking the exam; in this case, their final grade will be the highest of the two grades. Grade improving for a course is only allowed during the first September examination period following the teaching semester of the course. The grades are expressed in a scale of 0 to 10 with no fractional part and with a minimum passing grade of 5.